Healthy Fat?

I am not sure I know what to think of the latest craze in replacing the burger.  Let’s be clear, I eat a whole foods, plant based diet; and I love a burger as much as the next girl.  I just happen to use beans to make it.  Well now I have a new option – The Beyond Burger. They claim it is “the world’s first plant-based burger that looks, cooks, and satisfies like beef without gluten, soy or GMOs.” This product baffles me, a pea protein isolate with canola oil, coconut oil, sunflower oil, and a bunch of etc, that sports 270 calories (170 calories from Fat) with a total of 20g of fat per patty, and 380mg of sodium. No way that can be healthy?

It is junk food for Vegans – Call it that.  This company says ‘By shifting from animal, to plant-based meat, we are creating one savory solution that solves four growing issues attributed to livestock production: human health, climate change, constraints on natural resources and animal welfare.”  I’m not seeing the human health impacts here, someone help me with that.

My research has lead me to not consuming oils in general, so this burger is a no for me.  But if you are interested in improving human health; do some research before you jump on this new craze. The company says “this Burger uses significantly less water, less land, generates fewer Greenhouse Gas Emissions and requires less energy than a beef burger;” but that does not mean it is good for your heart.

Leave a comment